Club History


The Broken Wheel Square Dance Club was formed in April, 1967 in Lake County Ohio.

A brief history of important events is as follows:

April 21, 1967The charter members meet in the garage of Walt and Natella Shell and form the new square dance club. It was named the Sidewinders. Mike Cochran was a club founder, charter member, teacher and club caller.
May 2, 1967The Sidewinders hold their second meeting and change the name to Broken Wheels. They also choose the club colors of yellow and brown.
May 5, 1967The Broken Wheels sponsor their first dance.
June 30, 1967BWS enters its first float in a parade (Mardi Gras.)
1970Peg Brooks is elected as club secretary. She has been in the club longer than any other member.
1972Dewey Berry became the club caller.
1973Julian “Bud” Bolt became the teacher and a club co-caller with Dewey Berry. We begin our tradition of having a cake walk. The first Sunshine Committee is formed.
1980We begin our tradition of having a 50/50 raffle
1983Francis Queener became the teacher and club caller
1987Bob and Judy Calkins bring the Friendship Song back with them after being at an International Square Dance Convention in Germany.
1987Peg Brooks makes the banner that we still use today.
1995Bob and Judy Calkins are named Honor Couple.
1996Francis Queener retires. Ray Miller takes over as teacher and caller.
1999Bev Schumann teaches her first class for BWS.
2001Ed and Bev Legat are named Honor Couple.
2001Bev Schumann retires, Jody Serlick takes over as the teacher.
2002Dick and Pat Winter are named Honor Couple.
2002Broken Wheel Squares celebrated its 35 year history with a series of special events at each dance including a dinner dance on April 19.
200740th Anniversary Dinner Dance.
2008Debbie and Larry Candow are named Honor Couple.
2011Jody Serlick retires; Gene Hammond takes over teaching the lessons.
2017Jim and Betsy Taylor are named Honor Couple.
2017Celebrating our 50th Anniversary